50 Years Elektronmusikstudion EMS

One of Europe’s foremost institutions of electronic music experimentation, the Elektronmusikstudion EMS in Stockholm celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2014. Created in 1964 as a studio for research and development within the Swedish National Swedish Radio, today the EMS is run independently by the Director Mats Lindström. Lindström will give an introductory talk on the history and current experimentation taking place at this important centre for musical innovation, as well as direct the multichannel diffusion of several seminal works produced at the studio.

EMS aims to support the artistic development of electroacoustic music and its integration within other artistic areas; as such it has been involved in a wide range of musical scenes, including contemporary electronic dance music, noise, drone, sound installations, and text/sound compositions. Every year the EMS hosts different guest composers in residency as well as musicians and music practitioners from all over the world that travel to the studio to attend seminars, courses, and lectures. Over the years luminaries such as Karlheinz Stockhausen, Philip Glass, and Morton Subotnick – best known for his "Silver Apples of the Moon", the first electronic work commissioned by a record company – have graced the studios halls, as have more recent visits from the likes of Mark Fell, Brian Williams a.k.a Lustmord, or Stephen O’Malley from Sunn O))) and KTL.

Lindstrom’s talk will elaborate on the studio’s extensive research, its productions and compositions, as well as the web of protagonists that have called the studio home over time.  Lindström will also offer a background to several works he himself will specially diffuse, including a work by EMS founder Knut Wiggen (1927), as well as pieces by pioneering experimenters within Swedish electronic music Rune Lindblad (1923 – 1991) and Åke Hodell (1919 – 2000) will be diffused.

The same afternoon, Lindström will also direct a two-hour multichannel electroacoustic sound projection entitled "Images of the Dream and Death", composed by Swedish-Hungarian electroacoustic pioneer Akós Rózmann (1939 – 2005). Produced by Rózmann at the EMS between 1974 and 2001, the work was released in 2013 on Editions Mego sublabel Ideologic Organ, curated by Stephen O’Malley.

50 Years Elektronmusikstudion EMS Stockholm

HAU2, Thu 30.01.2014, 16:00

Lecture by Mats Lindström with pieces by Rune Lindblad, Knut Wiggen, Åke Hodell a.o.

Editions Mego IV – EMS / Ideologic Organ

HAU2, Thu 30.01.2014, 20:00

Ákos Rózmann „Images of the Dream and Death”, Performed by Mats Lindstrøm