Sound Heterogeneous Art and Performance in Europe

Supporting Emerging European Talent

Audience examines MusicMakers Hacklab inventions after the Finale performance at CTM 2019. Photo by Udo Siegfriedt.

An initiative co-funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, the SHAPE project reunites 16 European non-profit organisations active within the ICAS – International Cities of Advanced Sound network to create a platform that aims to support, promote, and exchange innovative and aspiring emergent musicians and interdisciplinary artists with an interest in sound.

All 16 organisations collectively choose 48 musicians to participate in a mix of live performances, residencies, workshops and talks across member festivals and special events. A new pool of 48 artists is selected subsequently for each year of SHAPE initiative.

The SHAPE project launched at CTM 2015 with an open Meet and Greet. Presentations by several SHAPE organisations as well a selection of participating artists provided insight into the upcoming year of activities, musical projects, and beyond. CTM 2016 launched the platform's second year, announcing the 2016 supported artists. Artists supported in 2017 were announced autumn 2016, with a first major presentation at Novas Frequencias festival in Rio de Janeiro. In 2018, SHAPE's funding was renewed for another 4 years, effectively launching the project's second phase. 

Participating Artists 2020

  • Afrodeutsche
  • Aloïs Yang
  • Animistic Beliefs
  • Aquarian
  • Ben Bertrand
  • c/a (cslasha)
  • Cam Deas
  • Celine Gillain
  • Clara de Asis
  • Hugo Esquinca
  • Dorota
  • Elina Waage Mikalsen
  • Elvin Brandhi
  • Farida Amadou with Steve Noble
  • Fausto Mercier
  • FOQL
  • Frédéric Gies
  • Jay Glass Dubs
  • KӣR
  • Lawrence Lek
  • Lyra Valenza (with VJ Camille Doussy)
  • Lyzza
  • Marta De Pascalis
  • Moesha 13
  • object blue
  • Oktober Lieber
  • Oli XL
  • Oliver Torr
  • Peter Kutin
  • Piezo
  • Poly Chain
  • Rian Treanor
  • Richard Eigner
  • Rojin Sharafi
  • Rrill Bell aka The Preterite
  • Sacrifice Seul
  • Schacke
  • Simina Oprescu
  • Širom
  • Stellar Om Source
  • Svetlana Maraš
  • Tadleeh
  • upsammy
  • Virgen María
  • VTSS
  • xin
  • Yann Gourdon