Jesse Osborne-Lanthier[CA/DE]

Photo by Madison Dinelle

Jesse Osborne-Lanthier is a conceptual electronic musician and visual artist focused on inciting alternative cognitive responses via mixed sonic material. Also working solo as Noir, Lanthier’s collaborative aliases include Femminielli Noir with Bernardino Femminielli and The H with Francesco De Gallo. 

Lanthier was raised in Montreal and been active as a sound artist since 2007. His most recent album, Otherwise Insignificant Psyche Debris, is comprised of 22 live recordings from over the last few years and and was released as a cassette via labels Hobo Cult and MIND Records. Focused on the concept of dispositional emotional regulation, the body of work deals with acceptance, avoidance, problem solving, reappraisal, rumination, and suppression. It contains remixes by Grischa Lichtenberger (Raster Noton, Semantica), Vereker (L.I.E.S.), Hobo Cubes (Debacle, Digitalis, Opal Tapes), VNDL (Kvitnu, Hymen), and Robert Lippok (To Rococo Rot, Raster Noton) and is mastered by Vladislav Delay. It acts as the "exaggerated and terminal" follow-up to the collection Athenaeum of Unedited, Superannuated, Incomplete, Unreleased, Intimate Works 2011-2013, an intimate selection of more beat-driven pieces, again taken unedited from the main front-of-house mixing boards at his shows in Montreal, Berlin, Barcelona, and Nottingham. Also released in cassette tape format by Hobo Cult Records, the works cycle from dub-influenced techno to static waves of noise, always textural, and with no trace of simplified, predictable formats. About all of his work he writes, "instead of using a platform or mold of dance music in order to make people move, I might use it to prompt a certain feeling, state, understanding, or aesthetic. I aim to use the tools which are available to me through contemporary music in order to reach a different and individualized end."

Osborne-Lanthier has also scored short films and produced for contemporary theatre. He recently moved to Berlin.

Beta II

YAAM III, Sat 31.01.2015, 23:00

Wilhelm Bras, Ketev, RSS B0ys, Jesse Osborne-Lanthier, Kucharczyk, Olle Holmberg