Hanno Leichtmann[DE]

Hanno Leichtmann is a producer, sound artist and curator. He is a member of the bands Groupshow (with Jan Jelinek and Andrew Pekler) and Denseland (with David Moss and Hannes Strobl); the brains behind the picture/disk label that releases 7” records in groups of 23 handcrafted, transparent editions; and a solo performer both under his own name and under the moniker, STATIC.

Leichtmann’s modern takes on minimal music betray strong connections to dub, ambient and club music. The most recent of his five albums as Hanno Leichtmann, unfinished portrait of youth today, was released in July 2015, and the preceding minimal studies was put out by Moscow’s mikroton rec. in February 2013. As STATIC, a loop-based project employing an 808, a Fender Rhodes, a sampler, and vintage drum pads, Leichtmann released four albums and several 7"s and 12"s between 2001 and 2011 on labels such as CityCentreOffices, Earsugar, Karaoke Kalk, and Audio-nl.

Shortly involved through his activity as a drummer in Berlin’s improvisation scene, Leichtmann has collaborated with innovative musicians such as Axel Dörner and Gert-Jan Prins. In 2013, he released the previously-lost soundtrack for legendary film and theatre director Christoph Schlingensief’s last movie, African Twin Towers. The soundtrack features the Canadian musician, composer and actor Sir Henry and an Indian music ensemble.

Coordinates V

HAU1, Thu 04.02.2016, 19:30

Kink Gong, Carolin Brandl & Hanno Leichtmann, , ,